Mom-isms and Musings

Just another WordPress.com site

Hello world! August 1, 2010

Filed under: Random Musings — paintingmama @ 6:15 am

Well, here it is: entry #1 of my first blog. I was so excited to start one and have been putting it off for a couple months, but finally made the decision last night to sit down and create one. Once I got the page up, I realized I had no idea where to start. It’s been nagging at my brain all morning, so this afternoon I decided I am going to just sit down and start typing. So I guess the first thing I’ll post about is why I decided to start a blog.

Seems like everyone has a blog these days. Everyone has an opinion on something, and for those that know me… I’m no different. I have been through a lot in these 30 short years and have learned a lot of lessons along the way. I was only 19 when my boyfriend (now my sweet husband of 10 years) and I discovered that we were pregnant. We were married when I was 7 1/2 months pregnant and our beautiful baby girl, Kaitlyn was born two months later. Six and a half years later, we had our son Brandyn. Being a young parent and keeping a marriage together that young produced a lot of life lessons. In this day and age, the statistics of a teenage couple being together for 12 years and married for 10 despite having a baby very young and being broke for nearly the entire length of that relationship is close to¬†nonexistent. Add to that that we are still best friends and madly in love… I know of only one other couple (Sabrina and Rudy Roybal).

Although I am proud of this, it was very hard along the way. No one could really relate to our situation. Most of our friends are just now getting engaged, married and having their own babies whereas Ben and I are done having children. Ten years ago, I felt incredibly alone… having to stay home with the baby instead of going out with my friends. I felt as though time had frozen for me while everyone else went through the typical milestones of life. Now, looking back… as hard as it was, I wouldn’t have had it any other way. By no means do I encourage anyone to get married so young or have babies at that age, but I realize that when most of my friends will be dropping their children off at elementary school, I’ll be sending mine off to college. I’ll be 38 years old when Kaitlyn graduates high school. Brandyn will be 12 and old enough for his sister or grandparents to watch him while Ben and I can take an amazing trip somewhere. We were unable to go on a honeymoon when we were married because of how pregnant, not to mention how broke we were so this is something that Ben and I have been looking forward for years.

There are many marriage and parenting lessons that we have learned along the way and Ben and I have joked for years that we were going to start our own TV advice show. This is probably a better outlet for this. The joke among my friends is that I wish marriage and babies upon everyone, but in all seriousness every new mom has questions and concerns and every couple is going to face challenges. I would like to take this opportunity for anyone to email me or facebook me if you have a question for Ben or myself.

Please join me, follow along as I blog through my life. Thank you for reading and subscribe!

Love,

Mandy

 

Leave a Reply

