Mom-isms and Musings

Just another WordPress.com site

Sarah August 3, 2010

Filed under: Random Musings — paintingmama @ 11:52 am

I dug myself  a hole recently. I have been selling paintings in some art shows around town and while I was preparing to go to my very first art show, my son became upset because he wanted to go with me. Trying to comfort him, I told him that he would get to spend time at Grandma’s house and that if I did well and sold a painting, I would buy him a special treat just for him. I asked him to think hard about what he would like while he was at Grandma’s house and to tell me what that would be when I picked him up later that evening.

When I picked him up, I told him that I had in fact sold a painting and asked him if he had thought about what he would like to get for his treat. He nodded his head emphatically and replied, “a kitty!” My heart sank. While I love animals, I knew my husband really didn’t want to have an animal in the house and this was most likely not going to go over well with him. Of course this lead to a lengthy discussion, but in the end I told my husband that I had made a promise and it was important to keep it. I know that I have the power of mom and could tell him this was not possible, to make another choice. Then I began to think about my son, the fact that he never asks for anything (outside of the occasional piece of candy), the fact that he is very lonely while Kaitlyn is in school and the fact that Kaitlyn had many little furry friends along the way and he never did.

I asked him what he would like to name his kitty. I expected a typical three year old answer somewhere along the lines of Fruit Loops, Kitty or Sponge Bob. After a few moments of thought, he replied “Sarah!” He, at the time, did not know a Sarah and we still have no idea where he came up with that name. About a month later, Brandyn and I were looking through pictures on Craig’s List. We found one particular litter of Siamese-looking kitties. He looked at each kitten’s picture… and then pointed at one. He said, “Look at her nose! I love her nose! THAT is a Sarah!” An hour later, we picked her up.

Now, in the mornings instead of waking up to complaints of “Where’s Sissy?” and “When is Sissy coming home from school?” I hear (very loud) giggles and squeals from Brandyn as he and his Sarah chase each other up and down the hallway. She sleeps on his bed until he falls asleep and then joins me while I sit at my computer. She has become instant family over the last month, running to the door to greet the kids with meows and snuggles when they come home and searching their rooms and crying when they are gone. So here she is, Sarah “Monkey” Thomas:

 

One Response to “Sarah”

  1. Sabrina Says:

    How Sweet! I love it!


Leave a Reply

