Mom-isms and Musings

Just another WordPress.com site

The Owie Album August 3, 2010

Filed under: parenting — paintingmama @ 11:14 am

For those that follow me on Facebook, you know that my son is a typical boy and “walks with his forehead” as much as his feet. He has suffered many bumps, eggs and bruises along the way. Twice last year, I heard of two stories where a mom took their child to the grocery store after having some kind of accident where a “well intentioned” citizen thought the child had been abused and called CPS on the parents. It occurred to me that I needed to find a way to document Brandyn’s bumps and bruises. After some advice from another mom, I created the “Owie Album” on Facebook.

This has allowed me to document the who, what, where, when and whys as well as treatments of such owies. It relieves the stress of having to remember every little scenario and provides “witnesses” of the time through postings and pictures. I thought it was great advice for moms, although I can not remember who originally gave me the advice.  So take some pictures and share some giggles and frustrations with other moms. Also, it’s worth noting that I get great advice on treatments for the injury and reassurances from other moms and grandmas with these postings.

Here are some memorable entries from Brandyn’s Owie Album:

 

2 Responses to “The Owie Album”

  1. Average Girl Says:

    Love how you said, “Walks with his forehead.” So true for me too — some of my kids more than others…

    • paintingmama Says:

      It is a definite constant in my house. My son used to “eat it” daily running down the hall and not quite being able to round the turn to the kitchen. Thank you for commenting!


Leave a Reply

