Mom-isms and Musings

Just another WordPress.com site

Flylady.net August 4, 2010

Filed under: Housewife Stuff — paintingmama @ 10:31 pm

I wanted to share a website that has helped me out tremendously as a stay home mom. I have learned that I occasionally suffer from what this website calls C.H.A.O.S. (Can’t Have Anyone Over Syndrome). The symptoms are characterized by my house continuously exploding toys and other child paraphernalia. After venting some frustration to a friend, she told me about Flylady.net. (I hope this website doesn’ t mind me passing along lessons I have learned from it. Please check them out for yourself.)

The first thing I learned from this website is that I am not the only Mom on the planet with my house in constant upheaval.  Lesson number two was that, your house didn’t get destroyed in one day so don’t expect it to be spotless in one day. Lesson number three, you will regain control, 15 minutes at a time. So, I have decided over some postings in this category to share the lessons I have learned from this website and the tips and trick that have worked for me.

Have you ever noticed that when you spend a good solid hour cleaning, let’s say the kitchen, from top to bottom… you look around at how nice and spotless everything is and feel accomplished, how ever exhausted? You then walk into your living room or bedroom and see what disasters are waiting there and collapse on the couch in surrender. The solution to this lies in my favorite Flylady tip.

She says to set a timer for 15 minutes. Clean as much as you can in 15 minutes, that’s it. You’d be amazed what a difference 15 minutes can make. Then set the timer for 15 minutes again. Pick a different room and hit it until the timer goes off. Keep doing this everyday for as many rounds of 15 minutes you want and see what a difference it will make.

 

Leave a Reply

